Mander Organ Builders Forum

Introduction

ples

There doesn't seem to be a specific place on this board to post an introduction so I guess it has go here. I've thought for some time about whether or not to post to here as I was not sure whether I would be welcome. I am not a musician in any way, shape or form and as such have nothing of value to contribute - though I do (obviously) have an interest in the subject matter (hence the posting name). I have read the forum periodically for many months and out of that one or two questions have arisen which I'd like to put on here before I go back to lurking. If members are amenable to answering questions from a curious but uninformed non-musician then I'd put the questions on slowly over the coming weeks. If not then I'll simply go back to lurking.

The reason I've (temporarily) come out of hiding tonight is because I am actually typing this from a hotel room, out the window of which can be seen the tower of Hereford Cathedral and it is actually partly because of this forum that I am here! Having contemplated saying a brief hello for some time it seemed only appropriate that tonight should be the night - that and the fact that as I do not know anyone within 100 miles I have little else to do with my evening!

Reading this forum even for a short while and it is soon clear that the name of Henry Willis looms large in terms of British organ heritage and the Wikipedia article on Hereford Cathedral boldy claims that the Willis organ here is generally considered to be one of the finest examples. Being a Wackypedia article of course that could have been written by anyone but I was fortunate enough that an organ scholar was practicising during my visit so I did have the opportunity to hear the organ play. Besides Hereford my trip this week is also taking me to Gloucester and Worcester Cathedrals, both of which seem to occupy disproportionate amounts of column inches on this board.