Mander Organ Builders Forum

Improvisation

jonadkins

On a good day I would describe myself as a passable organist, but I am not good at improvising, which is a shame as it is necessary at our services. I did once have the privilege of attending a Briggs "workshop" at Gloucester Cathedral, at which he did his best to try and explain what he learned from Langlais, but he did rather leave our heads spinning with his technique when he, as he put it "knocked a couple of themes about" at the end. As another attender memorably put it: "Well, I was confused at the start, now I'm confused at a much more exalted level!"

Now, I fully realise the difficulty of trying to encapsulate in a post what would take years of training in France, but can I appeal to the breadth of experience and knowledge on this board and ask "What would be your one, overriding piece of advice about trying to improve improvisation?"

Thanks in anticipation,

jonadkins

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Get Nigel Allcoat's improvisation CDs and listen to how he does it. Then buy his book on how one can attempt to do similar. He is on here sometimes so you can find his contact details 'in the system'. Then as heva says - do some as often as you can.

AJJ

Now, I fully realise the difficulty of trying to encapsulate in a post what would take years of training in France, but can I appeal to the breadth of experience and knowledge on this board and ask "What would be your one, overriding piece of advice about trying to improve improvisation?"

Thanks in anticipation,

jonadkins

I'll say what I've heard every person tell me in all of the improvisation classes/seminars/coaching I've been in:

"You must practice the techniques of improvisation with as much dedication as you have for the written literature"

In other words, there is no magic decoder ring - learn the techniques and PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE!