Mander Organ Builders Forum

Text Book On Registration

martin_greenwood

Hello All

I'm studying towards ARCO which I hope to sit next summer, and am trying to identify a good text book that will offer me guidance on choosing tasteful and "authentic" registrations for organ music from baroque through to 20th century, and for the different countries from where this music originated and was played.

So far I have found,

• Handbuch Orgelmusik : Komponisten - Werke - Interpretation pub. Baerenreiter - am awaiting a response to whether this is available in English.
  • "Organ-Stops and Their Artistic Registration by GA Audsley - seems to provided an encyclopaedic description of individual stops and there usages, but perhaps very little in the way of how they should be used in practice.

In short, I'm looking for something that would help me look at a piece of music and give me some guidance on how to build an appropriate chorus e.g. should I include a 16', should I add a mixture or use just reeds etc.

Does anyone know if such a book exists, or do I simply need to gain the knowledge through listening to the repertoire, and ongoing lessons?

Thanks

Hello All

I'm studying towards ARCO which I hope to sit next summer, and am trying to identify a good text book that will offer me guidance on choosing tasteful and "authentic" registrations for organ music from baroque through to 20th century, and for the different countries from where this music originated and was played.

So far I have found,

• Handbuch Orgelmusik : Komponisten - Werke - Interpretation pub. Baerenreiter - am awaiting a response to whether this is available in English.
  • "Organ-Stops and Their Artistic Registration by GA Audsley - seems to provided an encyclopaedic description of individual stops and there usages, but perhaps very little in the way of how they should be used in practice.