Mander Organ Builders Forum

Wind Pressure For An English Tuba

kropf

Hello!

After a longer read-only time and knowing, that some information is spread over other topics, I'd like to ask the organ builders among this community, what they would need as a minimum wind pressure to voice something, which may be called an English (or British...) Tuba...?

Greetings

• Replies 62
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

As always it would depend on the size of your building and the acoustic. I have known good ('typical English') Tubas at anything from roughly 10" to 20" (say 200-500mm)- and the higher pressure ones are not noticeably louder in effect than the others, or smoother in tone. If one were to generalise, I would say, allow for as much pressure as you can (i.e. the most that your wind system can give) and its own reservoir - the resulting pressure always be reduced!

I have a (former) Tromba here, which on 7" (c.180mm) now sounds absolutely as I would expect a Tuba to do, but then I have a small area for the sound to fill. As Barry Jordan's voicers discovered at Magdeburg, it is not just a question of pressure, the construction of the pipes is critical too. Manders helped out there and the resulting stop is superb.

I hope this reply starts the ball rolling for you.

As always it would depend on the size of your building and the acoustic. I have known good ('typical English') Tubas at anything from roughly 10" to 20" (say 200-500mm)- and the higher pressure ones are not noticeably louder in effect than the others, or smoother in tone. If one were to generalise, I would say, allow for as much pressure as you can (i.e. the most that your wind system can give) and its own reservoir - the resulting pressure always be reduced!