Mander Organ Builders Forum

Franck Choral No 2

Dulciana

I apologise for shamelessly taking advantage of your collective knowledge and experience, but I'm just starting out with this piece, and a few questions are immediately obvious.

The first is a few impossible (for me) stretches: I don't have a small hand, but there are a few I couldn't manage. Presumably one has to juggle the notes around and sacrifice the voice-leading at points for keeping the harmony. Does anyone have any particular/clever solutions, particularly in bars 20 and 35 for a start? The second thing is those occasions in which the pedal line is duplicated in the left hand. From what I know of the St. Clotilde instrument, there was no recit to pedal coupler, and so presumably this explains the doubling; in the presence of a swell to pedal coupler, surely this doubling could be omitted? Thirdly, in the absence of a Voix Humaine, the celeste is probably the best bet, but it isn't right: what do people use?

Any other pointers?

Thanks.

I apologise for shamelessly taking advantage of your collective knowledge and experience, but I'm just starting out with this piece, and a few questions are immediately obvious.

The first is a few impossible (for me) stretches: I don't have a small hand, but there are a few I couldn't manage. Presumably one has to juggle the notes around and sacrifice the voice-leading at points for keeping the harmony. Does anyone have any particular/clever solutions, particularly in bars 20 and 35 for a start? The second thing is those occasions in which the pedal line is duplicated in the left hand. From what I know of the St. Clotilde instrument, there was no recit to pedal coupler, and so presumably this explains the doubling; in the presence of a swell to pedal coupler, surely this doubling could be omitted? Thirdly, in the absence of a Voix Humaine, the celeste is probably the best bet, but it isn't right: what do people use?

Any other pointers?

Thanks.