Mander Organ Builders Forum

New Type Of Real-time Processor; Might Be Useful.

passion_chorale

Hi,

The contents of this posting will be rather niche/hobbyist focussed. However the device I discuss here might be of interest to forum members who regularly need to work with embedded electronic systems for stop and key control in electric action pipe organs, so I thought I would place this on the forum.

I will be discussing a new processor developed and sold by XMOS Semiconductor ltd of Bristol, UK. Their website is www.xmos.com. I'm an electrical engineering research student, and am writing in a private capacity. My only connections with the company are that I recently attended a free seminar to fiddle with their stuff in Bristol, and a friend of mine from University has gone on to work for them. Obviously this is a 'plug', but with good reason. I think that this device could lower several barriers of entry for hobbyist organ builders who want to easily incorporate their own cheap/custom/sophisticated/reconfigurable electronic control into organ projects. If discussion of individual products like this isn't ok by the moderators, remove it of course!

The company produce a new family of microprocessors (~£0.5-£5 in cost), and the (free and open source) software tools required to develop for them. Importantly for hobbyists, they also provide pre-made development kits at about £50 with the chip nicely set up on a board with all the ports brought out to solder pins.

Now there are thousands of varieties of microprocessors out there. The reader with some knowledge of electronics is probably thinking 'so what?' at this point.