Mander Organ Builders Forum

Wash Me Throughly - S.s. Wesley

Philip

We have just started work on this piece and I played it through for the first time last Friday night. In the anthem books we have (NCAB and Ash Wednesday to Easter) there is a registration marking at the start of "Sw Reed", but no other markings in the rest of the piece. To those who have accompanied this before - do you accompany on Swell Reed throughout, just using the Swell box for dynamic changes? Or do you switch to something else at some point? What about the pedals?

Thanks in advance.

I'm no expert in English mid nineteenth-century performance practice, but since no one else has replied...

There is a critical edition of SSW's anthems in the Musica Britannica series, so if you're near an affluent music library it might be worth looking up vol.57 to see whether it sheds any light - but my guess is it probably won't. (Or you could always buy it if you have the odd £92.50 to spare!)

Personally, as far as registration goes, I would do whatever is necessary to produce musical sounds that balance the choir properly, even if it means adapting or discarding the composer's suggestions. But I wonder what SSW intended?