Mander Organ Builders Forum

RSI and playing the pedals

Guest Hector5

Guest Hector5

Do any of you have experience of RSI and playing the organ - specifically playing the pedals. As most of you know, I went freelance in November, bought myself a new house organ and upped my practice regime from a snatched 45 minutes before choir practice each week, to approximately 2+ hours a day. The pain is pretty awful, although not when playing and seems to be confined to tendons and ligaments in my right leg behind the knee. Needless to say, I shall be visiting the doctor, but would be very grateful to hear of any similar experiences that people might have.

Hector

If I read you correctly it is more painful when not playing then when playing. Is that correct? I am not a doctor, but this does not sound like RSI to me; it sounds more like tendonitis or a pulled ligament. If so, it should be curable, but muscles take a long time to heal and need rest. RSI proper is, I believe, incurable.

I have what I am pretty sure is RSI in my trapezius muscle (across the back of my shoulder blades). It manifests itself as a burning fire about five minutes after I start playing. I just put up with it. I did find a nice lady who used to give me a jolly good massage which used to help a good deal. I must hasten to add that she was a qualified physiotherapist who really knew her stuff. Unfortunately I could never afford to go weekly, which is what I really needed. I have tried physiotherapy on the NHS and, frankly, found it completely ineffectual; I think it may well be a very personal thing.

Guest drd

Yes, it does sound like one's own experience of tendonitis or similar. (Though I, like others, am not a medical doctor - but I expect there are many on this board.)

Such things do take ages to recover, partly I suppose because everyday life constantly re-irritates the affected parts.