Mander Organ Builders Forum

Shoes

N Jones

Hi there,

This is my first post here, and I apologise that it's not terribly exciting. I am a pianist-turned-organist and am getting to grips with pedalling. It's going well-my biggest problem is footwear. I've tried a number of options including two pairs of dance shoes, and I have thus far avoided Organmasters because of the cost. However, it won't be long before I will have spent more on a few pairs of shoes than the cost of Organmasters!

I'm currently using character shoes. The suede soles are good although I can't feel so much through them. The heel, however, is problematic. It is a narrow Cuban heel and kept jamming between pedals. I could simply try to get used to this-what do you think? The alternative is buying a different pair.

I hope I'm not too much of a novice to be posting on this forum.

:D

Welcome, traed.

I don't know much about character shoes, but personally I would not recommend a narrow heel. Jeanne Demessieux could apparently play in high heels (http://www.musimem.com/demessieux-photos_orgue.htm), so it can be done, but it seems to me to be making life more difficult than it need be.

I actually managed for over 40 years using ordinary, everyday shoes, but it was always a problem finding ones suitable for both walking and playing (if the heel is rubber the tread has to be shallow and fine enough to wear smooth fairly quickly and that they have to have minimal or no welt). Fashion changes can be a pain too - something that might be worse for women than men. So not the best option.

Frankly, it's far less hassle just to bite the bullet and get Organmasters, which IMO well designed. You get a decent depth of heel (ideally you need 1¼-1½ inches), a snug fit and a sole that allows you to feel the keys.

As an alternative these might be worth investigating, though I have no experience of them myself; maybe others could comment? http://www.tictactoes.com/dance/organist_choose.htm