Mander Organ Builders Forum

Playing every week!

Westgate Morris

Playing every week!

I know similar questions have been posted. Direct me to other posts if needed.

What do members recommend as good serviceable repertoire (old and new) for those of us in smaller parish churches with very little time. My other job seems to demand a lot more of my time as it pays for my addiction to organ playing.

( I have a degree in music, studied organ and for example, can play, BWV 549, not sure of AB grade)

The standard books like “easy preludes and postludes” at my local music retailer just don’t seem to hold my interest. J

I refer to a quote from a Guest-Cynic in 2007:

“I have an amateur organist friend who keeps making the mistake of really liking a piece, buying it and then getting bogged down because the choice is so firmly at the wrong level for him. A church organist does not have to play difficult pieces to do a good job, you do not even need difficult pieces to make a pleasing recital programme.”

Running out of time,

W

Well, that's a wide open question!

Your situation is in some ways like my own - I likewise haven't done any organ grades and learn pieces mostly to play as voluntaries (some for my own personal pleasure, though!). There's no exact science to grades I guess, and my service playing is definitely better than my playing of repertoire. I keep a spreadsheet of organ voluntaries so that I can record what I play and when - some pieces are seasonal, while others can be played more generally - it helps to ensure you don't repeat things too often, and that pieces don't get forgotten.

You don't tell us what kind of instrument you have at your disposal - I have an instrument that is pretty well stocked so some of what I list may not be practical on your instrument. Nonetheless, here is a list of pieces I have used over time which may suit your requirements...