Mander Organ Builders Forum

Article on the RCO in the New York Times

pcnd5584

I can't honestly disagree with any of it except, to split a hair, I think Ms Ennis possibly over-estimates the standing and salaries of nineteenth-century British organists.* The last paragraph is spot on. As a student I had it very firmly impressed on me that to be a true musician you had to be interested not just in one instrument and its music, but in all types and all eras of music, orchestral, instrumental, vocal and the rest - and have the full range of keyboard harmony skills. My teacher had no time for musical narrow-mindedness.