Mander Organ Builders Forum

Easy Organ Pieces & leading a congregation?

OrganistOnTheHill

Hello everyone,

I am a beginner organist at a school (very fortunate enough to have an access to a Willis & Co Organ and a Lewis & Co Organ!) and I am preparing towards my first school chapel service as a organist. (We have two short morning prayers in a week). I need least two pieces, first piece for the entry of the congregation and clergies and a second piece for the exit of clergies and the congregation. I also have to prepare a hymn, which I would like some advice on tackling on practicing. I was around Grade 7 on piano and stopped for a couple of years. I fiddled around on the piano since last year and got better enough to reach the approval from the director of music to take up the organ. I am working on Bach's 'Es ist das heils uns kommen her' at the moment. 

1. May I have some tips on tackling a hymn? Transposing, volume (selecting proper stops for a hymn and the volume) and etc.

2. Suggestions of quite easy manual only organ voluntaries or pieces that are suitable for exit/entry for chapel. (Or maybe very simple pedalling?)

3. Other tips on leading the congregation and tips of being an organist in a chapel service.

Thank you!

The most important things in hymn accompaniment, especially if the congregation can be depended upon to join in with enthusiasm, as is very often the case in school chapels are:

• The choice of 'interesting' hymns in the first place - you may not be able to influence this!
  • Choosing the right speed;
  • Playing rhythmically at a steady tempo;
  • Playing the play over - (usually the first few bars) - so as to attract attention and interest with choice of stops, a rhythmic approach from the moment your hands touch the keys - all can be lost from the very first moment if you don't think about this and get it right;