Mander Organ Builders Forum

What is this piece, please?

Martin Cooke

Adagio from Guilmant's 3rd sonata in C minor op 56.  It is played here about twice the metronome marking in my edition which is marked sostenuto at crotchet = 60.  However that might be an editorial slip - I have no independent knowledge.  (My edition is an old Schott album - no date other than the piece was copyrighted by them in 1915 - but I suspect it was printed somewhat later than that because the cover price was 5/- which seems a bit pricey for the pre-1920s).

1 hour ago, Colin Pykett said:

Adagio from Guilmant's 3rd sonata in C minor op 56.  It is played here about twice the metronome marking in my edition which is marked sostenuto at crotchet = 60.  However that might be an editorial slip - I have no independent knowledge.  (My edition is an old Schott album - no date other than the piece was copyrighted by them in 1915 - but I suspect it was printed somewhat later than that because the cover price was 5/- which seems a bit pricey for the pre-1920s).

Thank you so much, Colin.

The copies on IMSLP suggest crotchet = something like 56 (I use Pierre Gougain's edition). The version in Marsden Thomas's Graded Anthology (Book 5) suggests crotchet = 60 but the notes are double length (RH starts in crotchets rather than quavers) - this is, to me, ridiculously slow so I think she has carried the metronome marking over from a copy with different note lengths. 

17 hours ago, sbarber49 said:

The copies on IMSLP suggest crotchet = something like 56 (I use Pierre Gougain's edition). The version in Marsden Thomas's Graded Anthology (Book 5) suggests crotchet = 60 but the notes are double length (RH starts in crotchets rather than quavers) - this is, to me, ridiculously slow so I think she has carried the metronome marking over from a copy with different note lengths.