Mander Organ Builders Forum

Pedalling In Bach

Richard Washington

Just to remind you, really I'm a pianist but I'm trying to build up a level of competence at the organ. I'm currently having a go at the well-known Toccata and Fugue in D minor. I am aware that one should probably just use the toes in Bach, yet it seems a more flexible approach might enable some nice legato playing of the pedal part. What is the scholarly position here - did Bach really never use his heels? If so, should the whole of the pedal part be in a 'pizzicato' style (except for long notes and semiquavers), or should I aim for a legato sound at moments where the possibility exists. Should I be crossing my legs to achieve legato quavers?

Any views on this would be greatly received. Thanks.

• 2 weeks later...

I believe the purists will tell you that toes only is the right and proper thing to do. And some will swear that the dimensions of some pedal boards from Bach's day make toes the only way to play.

Personally, I cheat, largely because my technique is so poor and I've mostly only played on modern pedal boards. I do know organists who play Bach seemingly entirely with toes and get legato lines, but I think there must be some crossover.

And I can't imagine how you would play the pedal solo in Bach's Toccata from the Toccato, Adagion and Fugue in C without using heels and/or crossing over but, as I said, my technique is indescribably dreadful and needs rebuilding from scratch.

I've always thought that if there was room to crossover, then there is enough room to use a heel. But I'm sure there are other people out there who are better qualified to give you a more meaningful answer.

• 1 month later...

Of one thing I am certain. The Willis/Wesley pedalboard has not been one of English organ building's most enduring gifts to organ performance.