Mander Organ Builders Forum

Rsi?

Peter Clark

I'm a writer and am working on another book - nothing to do with music, but rather Mithraism - and I'm also a bit of a text addict. Here's my problem - is constant working at a computer keyboard as well as texting likely to affect adversely my manual technique on the organ? I've noticed a mild deterioration of a sort recently but that could just be age and gin. Thoughts? :mellow:

Best

Peter

Guest Nigel ALLCOAT
Here's my problem - is constant working at a computer keyboard as well as texting likely to affect adversely my manual technique on the organ? I've noticed a mild deterioration of a sort recently but that could just be age and gin. Thoughts? :mellow:

Best

Peter

Scales and arpeggios - legato & staccato (15 minutes) at the start and conclusion of each day on the piano. If you already do this, add 5 minutes to each session.

Perhaps just as serious, I think you should have Tonic Water with the gin.

Best wishes,

Nigel

I'm a writer and am working on another book - nothing to do with music, but rather Mithraism - and I'm also a bit of a text addict. Here's my problem - is constant working at a computer keyboard as well as texting likely to affect adversely my manual technique on the organ? I've noticed a mild deterioration of a sort recently but that could just be age and gin. Thoughts? :mellow:

Best

Peter

Too much texting is not good - we see some problems with this from students at school

AJJ

Last summer, I was signed off for 2 months with RSI. No organ or piano playing during that time, either! It was a pretty miserable and painful experience. I put it down to using the computer with bad posture - a lot of time sitting on a sofa using a laptop on my lap and using the track pad really screwed up my right thumb, although everything was complaining.