Mander Organ Builders Forum

I Need Some Advice

Hello everyone!

I have been lying here silently for a while now and have found the posts and their contributors extremely interesting, so much so I feel compelled to complete my first post and hope that you can all help me out on subject that really is important to me.

This does involve a short story, but please stick with me.

I have all ways loved the organ from when I first set eye on one at local church aged 7, so I took my piano grades and joint the local choir for a closer look. I started to enjoy the whole church thing and so the whole thing started to snowball. Started lessons aged 9 and by 13 was organist at a local church moving to a larger instrument and building at 15. I even spent my school work experience at Manders workshop!

As I grew older I started playing services freelance in my local area and then around London progressing to local choir trips to cathedrals around the country. A promising FRCO candidate it was all going very well until 2006 when I was attacked in the street by some mindless idiot intent of stealing something or other.

Said idiot stabbed me once in the lower abdomen in my local high street before running off with nothing. Rushed to hospital with server internal injuries it was unclear if I would make it. I lost so much blood that low blood oxygen levels to my brain had significantly damaged parts of my nervous system.

I remember coming round in hospital unable to move, the commands I had been sending my body all my life no longer had the reaction they did before. I was terrifying.

Its taken 6 operations and nearly 3 years or re-learning everything to get to where I am today, my brain has no input connections from my body anymore and cannot sense the position of any of my joints so relies on my eyesight to reference body position and balance.

So the big question was could I still play...?