Mander Organ Builders Forum

Kuhnau 4th Biblical Sonata

MAB

I have recently discovered, with great pleasure, the Kuhnau Bibilical Sonatas and am enjoying learning the Fourth.

I am broadly aware of the programme of the piece, but as my Medieval German is not all that it might be, can anyone let me have translations for the exact texts as they appear in each movement ?

I would be very grateful for any assistance as, I am sure, would my future audiences.

Kind regards,

M

Just for the fun of it -- I make my living with this kind of thing, you know, only usually the other way round (from your beautiful language to mine).

This is rather a word-by-word translation. I could not venture to capture the spirit of baroque, ornamental writing in English, so please do make corrections. In case you were to print the translation, it would be kind, however, if you put my name under it.

Best,

Friedrich

The fatally ill, and again healthy, Hiskias