Mander Organ Builders Forum

17th C Italian Organs

mjgrieveson

Armed with RSCM Sunday by Sunday, I went shopping. :lol:

Along with several other things I purchased Vox Humana: Italy (Barenreiter). I'm really looking forward to getting stuck into some of these but I have no experience of the sound of an organ from this region or period.

The preface blurb was long on history but short on practical advice and so I don't quite know what kind of sound I'm aiming for.

Does it matter? (Sorry if that is a silly question.)

These are the resources to hand; any advice would be most welcome

Ped : Sub Bourdon 32

Bourdon 16

Lieb Bourd 16

Flute bass 8

Violoncello 8

Gt Bourdon 16

Op. Diap 8

H. Flote 8

Princ 4

Har. Flute 4

Fifteenth 2

Clarinet 8

Sw Op Diap 8

St Diap 8

Viol d'Amour 8

Princ 4

Cornet III 12.15.17

Cornopean 8

Oboe 8

Tremolo 8

Many thanks

MG edit - oops - just realised this should have been in the organ and its music section - apologies.

Along with several other things I purchased Vox Humana: Italy (Barenreiter). I'm really looking forward to getting stuck into some of these but I have no experience of the sound of an organ from this region or period.

The preface blurb was long on history but short on practical advice and so I don't quite know what kind of sound I'm aiming for.

Does it matter? (Sorry if that is a silly question.)

I don't know what you should be aiming for, but more knowledgeable contributors may have some suggestions if they know that the book contains organ music from the 18th Century and early 19th

Century by Anfossi, Corbisiero, Cotumacci, Fenaroli, Furno, Leo, Piccini, Sigismondo, Speranza, Valente, and Zingarelli

Here is a somewhat strange video (you'll see immediately why),

but which features an historic Antegnati organ with the famous

"Ripieno" registration, the most typical of the italian organ:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G81T2aKD_BE...feature=related

Another beautiful one: