Mander Organ Builders Forum

Herbert Howells

Pierre Lauwers

Hello Ladies and Gentlemen,

I am a belgian organ lover, having done some research in this field up to twenty years ago -then the businesses took over for a time-.

I try to introduce the organ works of Herbert Howells to belgian and french organists, who ignore him. This music is of course closely tied to the british cathedral organ, no doubt, and moreover the late-romantic one. So I'd be delighted to know:

-Has anybody tried Howell's music on a continental organ (Cavaillé-Coll, Gonzalez, Klais, other, romantic or neo-classical)

-What are the basic requirements to which an organ must respond to do justice to this music?

Thanks and best wishes,

Pierre Lauwers.

• Replies 211
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I would have thought that the music of Herbert Howells would transfer well to a Cavaillé-Coll of modest proportions or greater, although I've no experience. The only thing is, that the string sound maybe too big for the softest passages.

I have heard Herbert Howells to great effect at St Ignatius Loyola in New York - arguably Mander's finest work. The style of this instrument owes much to the French romantic period of the mid Cavaillé-Coll period, but is certainly not a clone or a copy. It has some stops that would not belong in such a scheme from that period, but are voiced in line with the rest of the organ. It really works and has a lot of character, even chutzpah! See the description, or better still, come to New York and hear and see the organ.