Mander Organ Builders Forum

Vat On Crematorium Fees?

DHM

A question for anyone with experience/expertise in this area:

For the last few months I have been playing at the local crem. Fees for each service are paid on the day (cash or cheque) by the undertaker. Obviously I have been keeping careful accounts of these for my tax returns.

The question has now arisen as to whether, because I am VAT-registered as a sole trader in connection with other business activities, I should charge VAT to the undertakers. My accountant wasn't sure, but thought I should. A phone call to HMRC produced the answer that I definitely MUST, because as a sole trader I must charge VAT on everything I do in a self-employed capacity - and not only that, but I must somehow claim back all the VAT I should have charged, and didn't (since the question has only just arisen) since last July. So I guess I am not going to be very popular!

I can see problems arising because no VAT is payable on funerals, and therefore many FDs are not VAT-registered. Can anybody see a legal way round this?

Thanks in advance for any useful advice.

Douglas.

"I must somehow claim back all the VAT I should have charged.... since last July. So I guess I am not going to be very popular!"

(Quote)

The customers we deal with aren't the kind to come back with protestations...

This said, on the other hand, I wonder how one could ask them for money afterwards.

Pierre

This said, on the other hand, I wonder how one could ask them for money afterwards.

Pierre

That, according to the VATman, is my problem, not his (they're so sympathetic, these tax-collectors!).

Obviously I have no wish to pry into your finances (and I have no idea what other work you do), but are you sure that you need to be VAT-registered? As of last year, to the best of my knowledge, the earnings threshold at which one needed to register stood at £64,000.