Mander Organ Builders Forum

Organist Composers

Justadad

In my ignorance I seem to think that in the past the great composers of organ music have often been organists themselves.

I'm having difficulty figuring out who the great organist/composers of today are.

As you may know, I am a shameless novice in these matters. I get to Naji Hakim and then, well, I grind to a halt. Stupid, I know.

I should be very grateful if those of you who know what you are talking about (i.e., everyone except me) could bring me up to speed on the great organist/composers extant ... please.

Thanks in advance.

Justadad

Three spring straight to mind from these shores:

David Briggs

David Bednall (Someone to keep an eye on for the future, brilliant)

Paul Spicer (Although he's probably better known as a conductor than an organist.) His Kiwi Fireworks and his Suite for Organ are very fine, in my opinion.

P.

"Great" composers? To be perfectly blunt, I'm not sure we have any at the moment, but the charitable view would be that posterity will be the better judge. There are some excellent ones around, though.

What little I have heard of David Liddle's music has impressed me enormously. His Arabesque in particular is not only idiomatically written for the instrument, but also extremely satisfyingly constructed. In short, it's a first-rate composition. I came across it when Peter Barley played it in a recital at Exeter. Stylistically it struck me as a sort of cross between Duruflé and Vaughan Williams - and none the worse for it. It is, however, enormously difficult; David warned me that it would take months to learn - and he wasn't joking! One day I hope to get around to it! But if you have the sort of mind and technique that can get round Messiaen's Les yeux dans les roues, it will hold no terrors. Opening page here.

I'm having difficulty figuring out who the great organist/composers of today are.